Practice Progression

‘Self Portrait on a Tuesday’ 2017

fullsizeoutput_db3

As I made this sculpture using my body mapping method, I view this as a portrait of myself in that present moment, hence the title ‘Self Portrait on Tuesday’. If I were to make the sculpture again, it would be totally different, despite it again being a portrait of myself. The sculpture shows my internal state, and represents how I feel at that specific moment fullsizeoutput_db7in time. I also think the reflection from the perspex is interesting, as it gives the piece in two halves, juxtaposing the reality of the piece with
an image of reality, another interesting concept for me to think about.

I decided to change the background colour to black, as not only does it bring out the colour of the lard more, but it is also far more representative of my internal state. I am becoming more interested in the quality of the lard itself, with the material glistening in the light, almost taking on a grotesque aesthetic.

Leave a Reply

